Opinion

“OPINION is really the lowest form of human knowledge.  It requires no accountability, no understanding.  The highest form of knowledge is EMPATHY, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world.  It requires profound purpose larger than the self-kind of understanding. ”  -Bill Bullard

Having empathy to understand another’s path can be a difficult task but one that we all need to remember to try to do.  Don’t be too quick to have an opinion or pass judgement on someone.  After all, we haven’t walked in their shoes and we are all on our own individual journeys.

Walk good and enjoy your day!

16 thoughts on “Opinion

  1. Thank you for writing this, Barbara. It was a comforting read. I had this same issue on my mind, and scheduled a post for next week discussing my thoughts. I will link to your post so others can read it, too. “Walk good” is a very Jamaican phrase, so that was a nice island touch. Best wishes x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Honesty | Sabiscuit's Catalog

  3. Thanks Barbara, for liking my take on carol’s post, in turn enabling my connect with your world of ‘this and that’. We all need to empathise, get out of our bloated selves, as frequently as possible, to really feel what other lives and perspectives are all about. While introspection, or spending time with oneself, is important to address our personal concerns, we must as well outrospect, a neologism to mean getting out of ourselves, to comprehend life in its loving wholeness, so we truly live in all-embracing fullness…best wishes.. Raj.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh, my goodness, thank you for checking my little blog, Rajagopal! I so agree that we need to see things from other perspectives because we are all different and have experiences that are different. Spending time with ourselves….I have a pending post about this. Being reflective with our thoughts, perhaps meditation is a wonderful path of understanding. Love and Light to you, Raj!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi there! I finally have more than a short internet session, and I am sharing a little hostal room with my friend Barbara. About half an hour ago we were discussing this same subject, and how we should pause for a few seconds before jumping to conclusions —and allowing our higher selves to form a more-evolved opinion.

    I agree with you totally and am often defending the underdog when I overhear people picking apart another. “We are all on different paths, and we all have strengths and we all have weaknesses, and it’s not our place to judge others.” I say that often and am glad to be older so I can straighten my backbone and not reply with apathy (silence.) I have also learned that silence can speak louder than words, so I am grateful for that wisdom (of when to speak up and when to stay quiet) that comes with age! Of course, I am also tripped at times

    There will be only a few more days before I’m back at the property and offline (with those wonderful birds!) but—- thanks again for your amazing support!

    It would be wonderful to one day meet you in person.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You seem like an incredible soul, Deb, and it would be my pleasure to meet you one day. We all get tripped up at times but just need to remind ourselves from time to time. I absolutely love your hummingbird photos! Many blessings to you, take care!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

